North West

Manchester, Cheshire, Merseyside, Lancashire, Cumbria

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Lancaster University Physics Department
LA1 4YB

22 October 2018
09:30 – 16:00

Book your place on Eventbrite.

EVENT FOCUS

Aim:

To give Physics teachers the opportunity to develop their understanding of physics concepts through discussion with Physics researchers. This new knowledge and understanding is then shared with their students while teaching the curriculum in more innovative and exciting ways.

Main concepts:

EM radiation is created by accelerating charged particles

The type (wavelength) of radiation emitted by celestial bodies is related to the process causing this radiation

The detectors of this radiation depend on how the photon interacts with matter.

Doppler Shift is related to distance and therefore time and 3 D mapping of the universe


Programme

9.30: registration and refreshments
10.00 - 13.00: Talks and projects with researchers
13.00 - 14.00: lunch and tour of department
14.00 - 16.00: finish projects and preparing teaching resources

Your regional team


Alison Taylor

Higher Education Liaison Officer

spn@mmu.ac.uk

01612 472 978

Brendan Ickringill

TLC Team Leader

Brendan.Ickringill@iop.org

0785 031 2419

Graham Perrin

TLC Deputy Team Leader

graham.perrin@iop.org

07540 203 720

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Diana Farley

diana.farley@iop.org

07720 084 416

Darren Forbes

darren.forbes@iop.org

07525 631 496

Brendan Ickringill

brendan.ickringill@iop.org

07850 312 419

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Brendan Ickringill, Bolton Girls' School

brendan.ickringill@iop.org

Anthony Cliffe, Calday Grange Grammar School

ant.cliffe@calday.co.uk

Paul Cass, Cheadle Hulme School

paul.cass@chhs.stockport.sch.uk

Kerry Colyer, Elton High School

colyerk@eltonhigh.bury.sch.uk

Steve Pearce, Loreto Grammar

spearce@loretogrammar.co.uk

Catherine Dale, Queen Elizabeth School

C.Dale@queenelizabeth.cumbria.sch.uk

Kate Finch, St Hilda's Church of England High School

KFinch@st-hildas.co.uk

Sarah Grady, The Deanery CE High School

sgradys@deanery.wigan.sch.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Gender Balance Officers

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings