North West

Manchester, Cheshire, Merseyside, Lancashire, Cumbria

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Loreto Grammar School
WA14 4AH

5 December 2018
All day

Book your place on TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Explaining everyday events and devices using GCSE Physics – contextualise your teaching!
Perfect for NQTs, RQTs and non-physics specialists.
Two sessions – book for morning, afternoon or both.
Itinerary
Morning session: Planes, drones and automobiles
Using Newton’s Laws and the equations of motion to describe, explain and investigate motion of flying machines and cars
Session 1: Physics of flight (1000-1100)
Using models and simulations to illustrate Newton’s Laws of motion and explain how aircraft can fly – interesting context to a challenging topic area.
Session 2: Guest speaker: PC Dave Holmes, Senior Forensic Collision Investigator, GMP (1115-1215)
How the equations of motion (particularly v2-u2=2as) is used to investigate (and prosecute) road traffic collisions.

Lunch (1215-1300)

Afternoon session: Motors, magnets and microphones
Session 1: Making motors (1300-1400)
Using simple equipment to make working motors and loudspeakers
Session 2: Mobile phone technology (1415-1515)
How does electromagnetic induction (a.k.a. the generator effect) give us microphones and wireless chargers?

Aintree International Equestrian Centre
LA1 4YB

15 January 2019
All Day

Book your place on TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

A whole day workshop, primarily aimed at Stimulating Physics Network Partner Schools. It’s important, when teaching physics, to set it in context so that our students can see the relevance. This day is aimed at showing how physics is involved in equestrian sports, hosted by the Aintree International Equestrian Centre, home to the world famous Grand National Race..

The day will include 4 sessions of physics based around curriculum content such as Newton’s Laws of Motion, Balanced forces and equilibrium, thermal insulation and projectile motion. There will also be a behind the scenes tour of the facilities of the racecourse and a demonstration of show jumping.

It is anticipated that the course will be popular so early booking is recommended.

Your regional team


Alison Taylor

Higher Education Liaison Officer

spn@mmu.ac.uk

01612 472 978

Brendan Ickringill

TLC Team Leader

Brendan.Ickringill@iop.org

0785 031 2419

Graham Perrin

TLC Deputy Team Leader

graham.perrin@iop.org

07540 203 720

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Diana Farley

diana.farley@iop.org

07720 084 416

Darren Forbes

darren.forbes@iop.org

07525 631 496

Brendan Ickringill

brendan.ickringill@iop.org

07850 312 419

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Brendan Ickringill, Bolton Girls' School

brendan.ickringill@iop.org

Anthony Cliffe, Calday Grange Grammar School

ant.cliffe@calday.co.uk

Paul Cass, Cheadle Hulme School

paul.cass@chhs.stockport.sch.uk

Kerry Colyer, Elton High School

colyerk@eltonhigh.bury.sch.uk

Steve Pearce, Loreto Grammar

spearce@loretogrammar.co.uk

Catherine Dale, Queen Elizabeth School

C.Dale@queenelizabeth.cumbria.sch.uk

Kate Finch, St Hilda's Church of England High School

KFinch@st-hildas.co.uk

Sarah Grady, The Deanery CE High School

sgradys@deanery.wigan.sch.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Gender Balance Officers

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings