North West

Manchester, Cheshire, Merseyside, Lancashire, Cumbria

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Dealing With Radioactivity

20 June 2018
OL8 4BX

20 June 2018
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Book via
TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Radioactivity is often perceived as dangerous – especially to non-specialists but it need not be! In this workshop we’ll focus on common misconceptions, practicals aproaches and demonstrations and other relevant experiments to support the safe and engaging teaching of radioactivity. All activities will be within the approved CLEAPSS guidelines as suitable for schools.

Make and Take a Model Electric Circuit (South Lakes and Furness)

St. Bernard’s Catholic High School
LA13 9LE

27 June 2018
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm

To book, email
Phil Furneaux

EVENT FOCUS

The workshop will start with a short discussion on the merits of various teaching models of electric circuits and then participants will build a model of an electric circuit followed by discussing its use in the classroom at all levels.

Physics teachers of all experiences have attended this workshop which addresses the misconceptions of electric circuits and how this model can help with the understanding of actually what goes on in the wires.

Please note that spaces for this event are limited.

A Teacher's Conference for all who teach physics

Sci-Tech Daresbury
WA4 4AD

28 June 2018
9:30 am - 3:30 pm

To book, email
Andrea Fesmer

EVENT FOCUS

The conference is free for anyone who teaches physics at any level or who is interested in physics education. The costs for the conference are met by the IOP and Daresbury Laboratory kindly hosts the event.

As places are limited please book your place as soon as possible.

For more information, please download the Event flyer.

Your regional team


Alison Taylor

Higher Education Liaison Officer

spn@mmu.ac.uk

01612 472 978

Brendan Ickringill

TLC Team Leader

Brendan.Ickringill@iop.org

0785 031 2419

Graham Perrin

TLC Deputy Team Leader

graham.perrin@iop.org

07540 203 720

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Diana Farley

diana.farley@iop.org

07720 084 416

Darren Forbes

darren.forbes@iop.org

07525 631 496

Brendan Ickringill

brendan.ickringill@iop.org

07850 312 419

School-based Physics Coach and Lead School

Brendan Ickringill, Bolton School Girls' Division

bickringill@boltonschool.org.uk

Paul Cass, Cheadle Hulme High School

paul.cass@chhs.stockport.sch.uk

Tom Byram, Queen Elizabeth School

T.Bayram@qes.org.uk

Link+ School

John Hesten, Oldham Hulme Grammar School

j.hesten@ohgs.co.uk

 

 

 

 

Physics Network Coordinators

Gender Balance Officers

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.