Yorkshire & North East

Yorkshire, Durham, Tyne and Wear, Northumberland

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

School of Physics and Astronomy
LS2 9JT

9 January 2019
9:30 am - 3:00 pm

Book your place on TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Lectures, masterclasses, workshops and more. All teachers of physics, technicians and trainees welcome.

This popular day for everyone teaching physics is a mix of practical workshops, inspiring talks and congenial networking. Sessions concentrate on ideas to use in your labs and classrooms.

Workshops planned for the day are as follows:

A. What’s new about Energy? (Dan Hannard)
B: Electricity for beginners (Daisy Fox/Sasa Metcalfe)
C. Free body force diagrams from KS3-KS5 (Ruth Wiltsher)
D.Electromagnetism and building novel motors (Richard Bonella)
E. Maths for Physics (Rachel Hartley)
F.Teaching ideas for Seismic Waves (Caroline Neuberg)

Please choose 2 workshops that you would like to attend on the booking page.

Car parking spaces at Leeds University are restricted and should be pre-booked by contacting Erin McNeill via her email E.McNeill@leeds.ac.uk Further details about car parking can be found on the website link.

Please note: the map displayed below is the postal address. Access to the physical location of this event via this link. Here’s a campus map for reference.

West Yorkshire

Request this workshop in 2018

EVENT FOCUS

Making something abstract concrete is a useful tool for those teaching physics. Cloud chambers allow students to see the paths that ionising radiation has travelled. In this workshop you get to make a take away a cloud chamber big enough for a group of people to see into. You'll also get ideas for getting the most out of your dry ice.

Your regional team


Andy Bullough

Higher Education Liaison Officer

a.c.bullough@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 3720

Rachel Hartley

TLC Team Leader

rachel.hartley@iop.org

07920 291 896

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Bob Kiddle

bob.kiddle@iop.org

07850 311 220

David McKean

david.mckean@iop.org

07720 084 415

Michael Rolley

michael.rolley@iop.org

07850 311 226

Ruth Wiltsher

ruth.wiltsher@iop.org

07850 311 228

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Cara Hutton, CPhys, Skiption Girls' High School

huttonc@sghs.org.uk

Tim Clark, Notre Dame High School

tclark@notredame-high.co.uk

Jonathan Allcock, Allerton High School

allcocj@allertonhigh.org.uk

Tom Norris, Huntington School

teachingphysicsuk@gmail.com

Mark Edwards, St Peters, York

m.edwards@stpetersyork.org.uk

Tim Clark, Notre Dame High School

tclark@notredame-high.co.uk

Les Lambert, St Bede's Catholic Comprehensive School & Sixth Form College

llambert@stbedes.durham.sch.uk

Mark Calvesbert, Wales High School

mca@waleshigh.com

Link+ School

Michelle Duffy, Carmel College

mduffy@carmel.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Geoffrey Heywood

pnc12ne@gmail.com

Gender Balance Officers

Jenny Search

jenny.search@iop.org

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings

>>>>>>>>>