Yorkshire & North East

Yorkshire, Durham, Tyne and Wear, Northumberland

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Science Ambassador Training Day – Sunderland

Sunderland College Bede Campus
SR3 4AH

10 October 2018
9:30 am - 2:30 pm

Book your place on TalkPhysics.

EVENT FOCUS

A full day of training for groups of up to ten Year 7, 8 & 9 students from your school run by the IOP and York University with support from mentors and STEM ambassadors.

The day includes:

– Team building activities;
– Practical activities and confidence building;
– Presentation skills training;
– Group presentations and feedback;

– A set of teaching resources to use with your ambassador group, including information on problem solving and gender stereotypes.

Each school can bring up to 10 pupils, we would encourage you to bring all-girl groups or ensure at least 50% of the group are female.

Please book one space for your school (for up to 10 students).

West Yorkshire

Request this workshop in 2018

EVENT FOCUS

Making something abstract concrete is a useful tool for those teaching physics. Cloud chambers allow students to see the paths that ionising radiation has travelled. In this workshop you get to make a take away a cloud chamber big enough for a group of people to see into. You'll also get ideas for getting the most out of your dry ice.

Your regional team


Andy Bullough

Higher Education Liaison Officer

a.c.bullough@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 3720

Rachel Hartley

TLC Team Leader

rachel.hartley@iop.org

07920 291 896

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Bob Kiddle

bob.kiddle@iop.org

07850 311 220

David McKean

david.mckean@iop.org

07720 084 415

Michael Rolley

michael.rolley@iop.org

07850 311 226

Ruth Wiltsher

ruth.wiltsher@iop.org

07850 311 228

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Cara Hutton, Skiption Girls' High School

huttonc@sghs.org.uk

Tim Clark, Notre Dame High School

tclark@notredame-high.co.uk

Jonathan Allcock, Allerton High School

allcocj@allertonhigh.org.uk

Tom Norris, Huntington School

t.norris@huntington-ed.org.uk

Mark Edwards, St Peters, York

m.edwards@stpetersyork.org.uk

Tim Clark, Notre Dame High School

tclark@notredame-high.co.uk

Les Lambert, St Bede's Catholic Comprehensive School & Sixth Form College

llambert@stbedes.durham.sch.uk

Mark Calvesbert, Wales High School

mca@waleshigh.com

Link+ School

Michelle Duffy, Carmel College

mduffy@carmel.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Geoffrey Heywood

pnc12ne@gmail.com

Gender Balance Officers

Jenny Search

jenny.search@iop.org

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings

>>>>>>>>>