Midlands

Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire, Worcestershire, West Midlands, Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Rutland

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Teach Physics with Confidence: Motion

Sir Christopher Hatton Academy
NN8 4RP

6 July 2017
9am - 2.30pm

Book your place on TalkPhysics.

EVENT FOCUS

This free physics CPD day will improve your knowledge and confidence in teaching physics at KS3 and KS4 as a non-specialist teacher. It includes a range of practical strategies and demos that you can immediately take back to your classroom, and share with your colleagues.

Teach Physics with Confidence: Motion

Sir Christopher Hatton Academy
NN8 4RP

6 July 2017
9am - 2.30pm

Book your place on TalkPhysics.

EVENT FOCUS

This free physics CPD day will improve your knowledge and confidence in teaching physics at KS3 and KS4 as a non-specialist teacher. It includes a range of practical strategies and demos that you can immediately take back to your classroom, and share with your colleagues.

The 11th Annual East Midlands Network Day

Ockbrook School
DE72 3RJ

23 September 2017
9:30 am - 3:15 pm

Book your place on TalkPhysics.

EVENT FOCUS

You are invited to the 11th annual Institute of Physics East Midlands Network Day at Ockbrook School. This popular annual conference features a keynote lecture presented by Dave Cotton, IoP Teacher Network coordinator in Preston, entitled “Tones, Tines and Tings” – a short discourse on the development of ideas and usage of oscillation and vibration in music and beyond. This has been developed in memory of Anthony Waterhouse. You will also have the opportunity to choose three workshops from seven from a busy programme, exploring ideas to use in your labs and classrooms for age 7 – 18, along with novel resources, cutting edge applications of Physics, and hands-on practicals. These will be run by IoP Physics Network Coordinators and SPN Teaching and Learning Coaches.

All teachers of physics are welcome – including experienced teachers, those new to physics teaching, NQTs, technicians and trainees. The whole day (including lunch and refreshments) will be FREE OF CHARGE to all those who attend, thanks to support from the Institute of Physics and Ockbrook School. The school is situated close to Derby, 5 minutes from J25 on the M1 and 1 minute from the A52.

Technicians Workshop

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2017.

EVENT FOCUS

Come along to another CPD session organised by the Stimulating Physics Network, and delivered by Physics Network Coordinator Tom Dawson.

Using Toys to Teach Physics

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2017.

EVENT FOCUS

This workshop demonstrates the physics behind everyday toys, from simple demonstrations to useful investigations. But really it just lets out the inner child in each of us!

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2017.

EVENT FOCUS

The Datamouse project was started by the paper Stopwatch which was published in Physics Education in March 2009, and provides low-cost training by Alessio Ganci and Salvatore Ganci. This was such a brilliant and simple idea that the Institute of Physics Teacher Network decided to put together a workshop showing other teachers how to make inexpensive computer mice into timing gates.
If you've never soldered before here's a chance to learn.

Your regional team


Judith Webb

Higher Education Liaison Officer

judithwebb13@btinternet.com

07754 308 514

Richard Ager

TLC Team Leader

richard.ager@iop.org

07850 311 908

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Richard Bonella

richard.bonella@iop.org

07971 464 187

Ian Horsewell

ian.horsewell@iop.org

07917 351 360

Helen Pollard

helen.pollard@iop.org

07720 084 418

Peter Tiktin

peter.tiktin@iop.org

07720 497 819

Suzanne Woolhouse

suzanne.woolhouse@iop.org

07525 631 495

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Dan Cottle, King Edward VI Five Ways School

dcottle@kefw.org

Abigail Bell, Sir Christopher Hatton School

bella@hattonacademy.org.uk

Link Schools with Adviser 

Giles Ennis, The Priory Academy LSST

gennis@prioryacademies.co.uk

Spencer Lawrence, Toot Hill School

slawrence@toothillschool.co.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Richard Bonella

richard.bonella@iop.org

Helen Pollard

helen.pollard@iop.org

Gender Balance Officers

Nicky Thomas

nicky.thomas@iop.org

Rebecca Peacock

rebecca.peacock@iop.org

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.