Midlands

Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire, Worcestershire, West Midlands, Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Rutland

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Technicians Workshop

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2018.

EVENT FOCUS

Come along to another CPD session organised by the Stimulating Physics Network, and delivered by Physics Network Coordinator Tom Dawson.

Using Toys to Teach Physics

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2018.

EVENT FOCUS

This workshop demonstrates the physics behind everyday toys, from simple demonstrations to useful investigations. But really it just lets out the inner child in each of us!

Newport Girls' High School
TF10 7HL

Request this workshop in 2018.

EVENT FOCUS

The Datamouse project was started by the paper Stopwatch which was published in Physics Education in March 2009, and provides low-cost training by Alessio Ganci and Salvatore Ganci. This was such a brilliant and simple idea that the Institute of Physics Teacher Network decided to put together a workshop showing other teachers how to make inexpensive computer mice into timing gates.
If you've never soldered before here's a chance to learn.

Your regional team


Judith Webb

Higher Education Liaison Officer

judithwebb13@btinternet.com

07754 308 514

Richard Ager

TLC Team Leader

richard.ager@iop.org

07850 311 908

Suzanne Woolhouse

TLC Deputy Team Leader

Suzanne.Woolhouse@iop.org

07525 631 495

Teaching and Learning Coaches (IOP)

Ian Horsewell

ian.horsewell@iop.org

07917 351 360

Peter Tiktin

peter.tiktin@iop.org

07720 497 819

School-based Physics Coaches and Lead Schools

Dan Cottle, King Edward VI Five Ways School

dcottle@kefw.org

Greg Richards, Ashby School

G.RICHARDS@ashbyschool.org.uk

Abigail Bell, Sir Christopher Hatton School

bella@hattonacademy.org.uk

Susan Mighall, Rugby High School

mighalls@rugbyhighschool.co.uk

Kelly Hancock, George Spencer Academy

khancock@george-spencer.notts.sch.uk

Link+ Schools 

Giles Ennis, The Priory Academy LSST

gennis@prioryacademies.co.uk

Spencer Lawrence, Toot Hill School

slawrence@toothillschool.co.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Richard Bonella

richard.bonella@iop.org

Helen Pollard

helen@pollardweb.me.uk

Gender Balance Officers

Nicky Thomas

nicky.thomas@iop.org

Rebecca Peacock

rebecca.peacock@iop.org

Sarah Cosgriff

Sarah.Cosgriff@iop.org

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>