London & East

London, Kent, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, Norfolk

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys TN4 9XB

23 May 2017
4.30pm - 6.30pm

Book your place via Darrell Hamilton.

EVENT FOCUS

Build your own “rocket” launcher. You can then use the compressed air launcher in the classroom to engage students with the design of the rockets. Through modifications such as adding fins or altering the shape of the nose cone, students can theorise and then try out how a rocket’s flight path can be affected.

Energy – A New Approach

Reepham High School
NR10 4JT

6 June 2017
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

There have been some profound changes in the recommended teaching of the topic of Energy that have now been incorporated into the KS3 and KS4 National Curriculum Programmes of Study. This workshop aims to explore the reasons for teaching energy, explain the need for change, and suggest a teaching approach that can be used at KS3 and lays sound foundations for dealing with all those GCSE formulae.

Teachers will have the opportunity to practice using the new approach with plenty of hands on activities in a friendly and supportive environment. This workshop is for teachers of science at KS3 and KS4.

Homerton College
CB2 8PH

31 July - 3 August 2017 (residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Our First Year programme covers core topics such as electricity, energy and forces. You’ll be exposed to a range of ideas and resources to address teaching issues, such as gender balance in the classroom.
There will also be a range of social activities for to you enjoy!

Places are currently open to non-specialist teachers of physics in
SPN Partner Schools only.
More information - stimulatingphysics.org/summer-schools

Homerton College
CB2 8PH

31 July - 3 August 2017 (residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Our brand new Third Year course will deepen your understanding of physics, helping you to see some of the unifying concepts and broadening the range of applications and examples you can use in teaching. Your teaching will be enhanced with increased confidence in your practical, mathematical and theoretical skills. Specifically you will learn: Why electric circuits don’t actually do what you’d expect from GCSE physics; How Newton’s laws can be used in a range of much wider contexts; The unifying concepts of electromagnetism …and many other exciting and interesting concepts!
There will also be a range of social activities for to you enjoy!

If you’ve already completed one of our Second Year courses, this is for you.
More information - stimulatingphysics.org/summer-schools

Your regional team


Jayne Foster

Higher Education Liaison Officer

j.foster3@herts.ac.uk

07581 196 872

Alan Baugh

TLC Team Leader

alan.baugh@iop.org

07850 311 121

Jon Clarke

TLC Deputy Team Leader

jon.clarke@iop.org

07850 311 224

Teaching and Learning Coaches

Christina Astin

christina.astin@iop.org

07525 631 488

Robert Birke

robert.birke@iop.org

07850 311 911

Gerard Hallows

gerard.hallows@iop.org

07720 084 421

Liz Hutchins

elizabeth.hutchins@iop.org

07850 311 222

Stephen Long

stephen.long@iop.org

07720 497 821

Sharron Mackenzie

sharron.mackenzie@iop.org

07525 631 490

John Parsons

john.parsons@iop.org

07525 631 475

Niloufar wijetunge

niloufar.wijetunge@iop.org

07917 405 134

Eleanor Wylie

eleanor.wylie@iop.org

07920 058 915

School-based Physics Coaches (Lead Schools)

Rajiv Joshi, Seven Kings High School

r.joshi@skhs.net

Roger Rande, Bury St Edmunds County Upper School

rrande@bsecus.org

Link School with Adviser

John Phelps, Townley Grammar School

jphelps1.303@townleygrammar.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Nikki Ellis

n.j.ellis@kent.ac.uk

Ally Davies

ally.davies@jynxy.net

Darrell Hamilton

dahp.twggs@googlemail.com

Liz Nourshargh

LizN@physics.org

Niloufar Wijetunge

niloufar@wijetunge.com

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.