London & East

London, Kent, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, Norfolk

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Dulwich College
SE21 7LD

21 October 2017
09:15 am - 4:15 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

SPN Physics Day at Dulwich College is a full day of training and workshops for teachers of Physics and science technicians.

The course is run, organised and funded by the IOP’s Stimulating Physics Network, supported by Dulwich College and the University of Hertfordshire. It is free to teachers, technicians and trainees.

Take a look at the full conference programme before registering.

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys, TN4 9XB

29 November 2017
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Discover a series of interesting and counter-intuitive demonstrations to get your students thinking.

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys, TN4 9XB

7 February 2018
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Discover a series of practicals and demonstrations that I have found useful in my teaching – alternative approaches to standard practicals or demos.

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys, TN4 9XB

14 March 2018
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Come to this workshop to make and take away probably the best cloud chamber you’ll ever see!

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys, TN4 9XB

9 May 2018
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

This is one of the most popular workshops – make and take a launcher for paper ‘rocket’ projectiles, allowing a dynamic approach to teaching motion, forces, projectiles and so on.

Homerton College, Cambridge
CB1 8NN

30 July - 2 August 2018
(Residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Registrations are open for the 2018 First Year Cambridge Summer School.

Our First Year programme covers core topics such as electricity, energy and forces. You’ll be exposed to a range of ideas and resources to address teaching issues, such as gender balance in the classroom.

This Summer School is for teachers at Stimulating Physics Network schools whose specialism is not physics.

As we’re funded by the DfE, these courses are at no cost to you. We provide meals, accommodation – and reimburse reasonable travel costs.

At this point, the Summer School is open to teachers whose specialism is not physics from SPN partner schools ONLY . If you sign up and your school is NOT an SPN partner, your application will be rejected and you will be automatically added to our waiting list. We will contact you back in February if places become available.

All participants are expected to attend the Summer School for its whole duration.

Homerton College, Cambridge
CB1 8NN

30 July - 2 August 2018
(Residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Registrations are open for the 2018 Third Year Cambridge Summer School.

This third year course will deepen your understanding of physics, helping you to see some of the unifying concepts and broadening the range of applications and examples you can use in teaching. Your teaching will be enhanced with increased confidence in your practical, mathematical and theoretical skills. Specifically you will learn: Why electric circuits don’t actually do what you’d expect from GCSE physics; How Newton’s laws can be used in a range of much wider contexts; The unifying concepts of electromagnetism …and many other exciting and interesting concepts!

This Summer School is for teachers at Stimulating Physics Network schools whose specialism is not physics.

At this point, the Summer School is open to teachers whose specialism is not physics from SPN partner schools ONLY . If you sign up and your school is NOT an SPN partner, your application will be rejected and you will be automatically added to our waiting list. We will contact you back in February if places become available.

All participants are expected to attend the Summer School for its whole duration.

Your regional team


Jayne Foster

Higher Education Liaison Officer

j.foster3@herts.ac.uk

07581 196 872

Alan Baugh

TLC Team Leader

alan.baugh@iop.org

07850 311 121


Teaching and Learning Coaches

Christina Astin

christina.astin@iop.org

07525 631 488

Robert Birke

robert.birke@iop.org

07850 311 911

Gerard Hallows

gerard.hallows@iop.org

07720 084 421

Liz Hutchins

elizabeth.hutchins@iop.org

07850 311 222

Stephen Long

stephen.long@iop.org

07720 497 821

Sharron Mackenzie

sharron.mackenzie@iop.org

07525 631 490

John Parsons

john.parsons@iop.org

07525 631 475

Niloufar wijetunge

niloufar.wijetunge@iop.org

07917 405 134

Eleanor Wylie

eleanor.wylie@iop.org

07920 058 915

School-based Physics Coaches (Lead Schools)

Roger Rande, Bury St Edmunds County Upper School

rrande@bsecus.org

Tim Bold, Arthur Mellows Village College

tbold@arthurmellows.org

Simon Poliakoff, Dame Alice Owen's School

POLIAKOFFS@damealiceowens.herts.sch.uk

David Green, Kesgrave High School

dgreen@kesgrave.suffolk.sch.uk

Link+ School

John Phelps, Townley Grammar School

jphelps1.303@townleygrammar.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Nikki Ellis

n.j.ellis@kent.ac.uk

Ally Davies

ally.davies@jynxy.net

Darrell Hamilton

dahp.twggs@googlemail.com

Liz Nourshargh

LizN@physics.org

Niloufar Wijetunge

niloufar@wijetunge.com

 

 

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.