London & East

London, Kent, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, Norfolk

Our workshops are run at no cost to schools or participants. You can also contact your local Physics Network Coordinator to request a workshop on a topic of your choice, or to host a regional session.

EVENTS

EVENT

LOCATION

DATE

DETAILS

Imperial College London, SW7 2AZ

18 June 2018
9:30 am - 3:00 pm

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

A full day of science ambassador training for Year 9 students. They will develop the skills to deliver physics experiments and outreach activities after the training. Run by the IOP, groups of students are supported by IOP experts, local mentors and STEM ambassadors. The day includes:

– Hands-on experiments and practical activities
– Presentation skills training
– Group presentations and feedback
– A set of teaching resources to use with your ambassador group, including information on problem solving, creativity and communication.

Each school can bring up to 10 pupils, and we encourage you to bring all-girl groups or ensure at least 50% of the group are female.

Please book one space for your school (for up to 10 students).

Rainham Marks Grammar School, ME8 7AJ

26 June 2018
2:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Email Kevin Frost to book.

EVENT FOCUS

Elizabeth Hutchins and Sharron MacKenzie, Teaching and Learning Coaches for the IOP Stimulating Physics Network, will be leading these workshops. We will be exploring ways of making equations meaningful and engaging students in some of the more challenging aspects of GCSE Science.

With more exam board emphasis on maths in science this is an increasingly important topic. We will be exploring the use of calculations and graphs in a range of relevant contexts, including data collection and analysis for core practical experiments.

This session will cover Electricity and Waves – including measurement and calculation of current, potential difference and resistance, wave properties and the wave equation.

Homerton College, Cambridge
CB1 8NN

30 July - 2 August 2018
(Residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Registrations are open for the 2018 First Year Cambridge Summer School.

Our First Year programme covers core topics such as electricity, energy and forces. You’ll be exposed to a range of ideas and resources to address teaching issues, such as gender balance in the classroom.

This Summer School is for teachers at Stimulating Physics Network schools whose specialism is not physics.

As we’re funded by the DfE, these courses are at no cost to you. We provide meals, accommodation – and reimburse reasonable travel costs.

At this point, the Summer School is open to teachers whose specialism is not physics from SPN partner schools ONLY . If you sign up and your school is NOT an SPN partner, your application will be rejected and you will be automatically added to our waiting list. We will contact you back in February if places become available.

All participants are expected to attend the Summer School for its whole duration.

Homerton College, Cambridge
CB1 8NN

30 July - 2 August 2018
(Residential)

Book your place via TalkPhysics

EVENT FOCUS

Registrations are open for the 2018 Third Year Cambridge Summer School.

This third year course will deepen your understanding of physics, helping you to see some of the unifying concepts and broadening the range of applications and examples you can use in teaching. Your teaching will be enhanced with increased confidence in your practical, mathematical and theoretical skills. Specifically you will learn: Why electric circuits don’t actually do what you’d expect from GCSE physics; How Newton’s laws can be used in a range of much wider contexts; The unifying concepts of electromagnetism …and many other exciting and interesting concepts!

This Summer School is for teachers at Stimulating Physics Network schools whose specialism is not physics.

At this point, the Summer School is open to teachers whose specialism is not physics from SPN partner schools ONLY . If you sign up and your school is NOT an SPN partner, your application will be rejected and you will be automatically added to our waiting list. We will contact you back in February if places become available.

All participants are expected to attend the Summer School for its whole duration.

Your regional team


Helen Sizer

Higher Education Liaison Officer

h.sizer@herts.ac.uk

01707 281 130

Alan Baugh

TLC Team Leader

alan.baugh@iop.org

07850 311 121


Teaching and Learning Coaches

Robert Birke

robert.birke@iop.org

07850 311 911

Gerard Hallows

gerard.hallows@iop.org

07720 084 421

Liz Hutchins

elizabeth.hutchins@iop.org

07850 311 222

Stephen Long

stephen.long@iop.org

07720 497 821

Sharron Mackenzie

sharron.mackenzie@iop.org

07525 631 490

John Parsons

john.parsons@iop.org

07525 631 475

Niloufar Wijetunge

niloufar.wijetunge@iop.org

07917 405 134

Eleanor Wylie

eleanor.wylie@iop.org

07920 058 915

School-based Physics Coaches (Lead Schools)

Roger Rande, Bury St Edmunds County Upper School

rrande@bsecus.org

Tim Bold, Arthur Mellows Village College

tbold@arthurmellows.org

Simon Poliakoff, Dame Alice Owen's School

POLIAKOFFS@damealiceowens
.herts.sch.uk

David Green, Kesgrave High School

dgreen@kesgrave.suffolk.sch.uk

Alexander hasthorpe, Wetherby Senior School

Alexander.Hasthorpe@wetherby
senior.co.uk

Link+ School

Michelle Duffy, Carmel College

mduffy@carmel.org.uk

Physics Network Coordinators

Nikki Ellis

n.j.ellis@kent.ac.uk

Ally Davies

ally.davies@jynxy.net

Darrell Hamilton

dahp.twggs@googlemail.com

Liz Nourshargh

LizN@physics.org

Niloufar Wijetunge

niloufar@wijetunge.com

 

 

Gender Balance Officers

Esther Mander

esther.mander@iop.org

Events

Find the latest events on our regions page.

Cookie Settings